The STSP Student Publication Award

Established in 2009 by the Australian Institute of Physics (AIP) and awarded annually to three postgraduate students who publish excellent refereed papers in the field of Solar-Terrestrial and Space Physics (STSP) in leading international journals.

<u>Title of Award:</u> Best student publication in Solar-Terrestrial and Space Physics Purpose of Award: To encourage postgraduate students in the STSP research area

to publish during their candidature

Type and value of Award: 1st place: prize \$400 and a certificate

2nd place: a certificate 3rd place: a certificate

Application closing date: December 31st

Candidature: MSc or PhD student

Eligibility Criteria:

The student must be first author on the paper and contribute 50% or more of the original research;

- The paper must be a result of the student's current postgraduate and/or preceding Honours studies;
- The paper must be published or accepted for publication in the 12 months prior to the award application closing date.
- The student must be an AIP member by September 1 of the corresponding year;
- The student must be enrolled in an MSc or PhD program in one of Australia's post-secondary institutions at the time of paper submission.

Application documents:

- A cover letter (no more than 1 page) written by the student.
- A PDF file of the published paper. If a paper is not yet published, a PDF file of its latest version together with the acceptance letter from the Editor.
- A letter of recommendation from the student's primary supervisor, where the details and a percentage of the student's contribution are given.

Method of Award: On recommendation by the Selection Committee

Selection Committee: All STSP Committee members not involved in the research

project considered for the award.

Ranking considerations:

- Scientific merit of the paper.
- Number of years the student has been enrolled in a postgraduate program. Students with less time spent on postgraduate studies receive higher ranking.

All applications should be submitted electronically to the current STSP Chair. The 2009-2010 STSP Chair is Dr. Svetlana Petelina: s.petelina@latrobe.edu.au