[STSP] 27 June deadline for Abstract Submission of STSP papers to 2014 AIP Congress

Colin Yuile c.yuile at bom.gov.au
Wed Jun 4 09:39:40 EST 2014

Dear STSP people,

the Call for Abstracts for the 2014 AIP Congress (7-11 December at ANU)
is out (http://www.aip2014.org.au/abstracts/?IntCatId=3D60), and closes on
the 27th of June.

This is soon.

Please therefore consider rapidly whether you will attend the AIP Congress
and then submit 1 or more abstracts if you will attend. It is important
that the STSP Group has a significant presence at the AIP Congress,
despite the existence of more focused meetings. The Plasma Group's
sessions are also likely to be of interest to STSP people, as are
the Atmospheric Physics and Astronomy sessions, among others.

The STSP Committee (see below) and others have had some success in
reducing the Congress registration fees: the early-bird members rate is
likely to be $695 and include at least 3 catered lunches. (This is
still high but is $100 lower than the last one's.)

The STSP Committee (Christine Charles, Dave Neudegg, Fred Menk, Iain
Reid, John Devlin, Marc Duldig, Trevor Harris, and I) is considering
invited speakers. These invitations will likely be sent after 16 June
so submit the abstracts you want to present now ... and don't wait for
an invitation.

With apologies for the lateness of this request / reminder,

Iver Cairns (as Chair of the 2014 STSP Committee)


Iver H. Cairns, Professor in Space Physics,
                 Coordinator, Intermediate Year Physics,
                 Network Leader, Sydney SpaceNet,
                 Leader, i-INSPIRE Spacecraft Project

School of Physics,       Email: cairns at physics.usyd.edu.au
University of Sydney,
NSW 2006,                Work phone: +61-2 9351-3961
Australia                Work fax:   +61-2 9351-7726.

Member, Executive Committee, IAGA

Member, Finance Committee, COSPAR

Scientific Discipline Representative, SCOSTEP

Co-Chair, Australian Space Science Conference (ASSC), 2007 - 2013
Co-Chair, Australian Space Research Conference (ASRC), 2014 -

Leader, Solar, Heliospheric, and Ionospheric (SHI) Group of
       the Murchison Widefield Array (MWA) project

Chair, Solar-Terrestrial and Space Physics
        (STSP) Group of the Australian Institute of Physics.


More information about the STSP mailing list